March 24, 2011

The Honorable Spencer T. Bachus III Chairman Committee on Financial Services 2129 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Bachus:

On behalf of ICBA's nearly 5,000 community bank members, I write to express our support for the "Responsible Consumer Financial Protection Regulations Act."

The Act would restructure the new Consumer Financial Protection Bureau so that it is governed by a five member commission rather than a single director. Commissioners would be confirmed by the Senate to staggered, five-year terms, and no more than three commissioners would be affiliated with any one political party.

The new CFPB will have far reaching discretion in writing rules for all banks, including those exempt from primary CFPB examination, as well as non-bank financial services providers. A commission form of governance would allow for a variety of views on issues before the Bureau and thus build in a system of checks and balances that a single director form of governance simply can't do. The commission model, which has worked well for the FDIC, SEC, and FTC, would help ensure that the actions of the CFPB are measured, non-partisan and result in balanced, high quality rules and effective consumer protection.

Thank you for introducing this legislation. We look forward to working with you to see it enacted.

Sincerely, /s/ Camden R. Fine President and CEO

Cc: The Hon. Barney Frank, Ranking Minority Member, Committee on Financial Services

The Hon. E. Scott Garrett, Chairman, Capital Markets and Government-Sponsored Enterprises

The Hon. Gary L. Ackerman, Minority Member, Capital Markets and Government-Sponsored Enterprises

JAMES D. MACPHEE

JACK A. HARTINGS Treasurer

WAYNE A. COTTLE

President and CEO

R. MICHAEL MENZIES SR. Immediate Past Chairman CAMDEN R. FINE

SALVATORE MARRANCA

Chairman

Secretary

Chairman-Elect JEFFREY L. GERHART Vice Chairman The Hon. Ronald E. Paul, Chairman, Domestic Monetary Policy

The Hon. Melvin L. Watt, Minority Member, Domestic Monetary Policy

The Hon. Shelly Moore Capito, Chairwoman, Financial Institutions

The Hon. Luis V. Gutierrez, Minority Member, Financial Institutions

The Hon. Judith Borg Biggert, Chair, Insurance, Housing and Community Opportunity

The Hon. Maxine Waters, Minority Member, Insurance, Housing and Community Opportunity

The Hon. Gary G. Miller, Chairman, International Monetary Policy

The Hon. Gregory W. Meeks, Minority Member, International Monetary Policy

The Hon. Robert R. Neugebauer, Chairman, Oversight and Investigations

The Hon. Stephen F. Lynch, Minority Member, Oversight and Investigations